Back to All Events

OpenICE Chicago

  • Chopin Theatre 1539 W Division St Chicago, IL, 60642 United States (map)

Chopin Theatre
1543 W. Division St.
Chicago, IL 60642

Chicago Cultural Center
78 E. Washington St. 
Chicago, IL 60602


OpenICE Chicago continues with free events, all over the city!  Three evenings of concerts curated by ICE's star soloists show their unique perspectives on the repertoire.  Open workshops with Polish composer Wojtek Blecharz are also open to the public--get some insight into ICE's collaborative working process as we design a new project!

Monday 12/5
Chopin Theater — 1543 W. Division St.

1 - 3 pm: Composer workshop #1, with Wojtek Blecharz.  The public is invited to join ICE as we publicly kick off a large-scale collaboration with this remarkable early-career composer. 


Michael Pisaro: Ricefall (2) (Chicago Premiere) 

Pisaro's 60-minute work features a collaboration with sixteen “rice players,” experimenting with the percussive nature of grains of rice falling on different mediums, performing side by side with eight ICE members. Led by Greg Stuart, with special guests: Naomi Beckwith, Ben Bolter, Arlene Dunn, Larry Dunn, Leslie Hull, Ryan Keesling, Maciej Lewandowski, Will McDaniel, Chelsea Ross, Jason Ticus.  After a successful premiere in New York, it's time for Chicago to get a taste of rice!

Tuesday 12/6
Chopin Theater — 1543 W. Division St. 

12 - 2 pm: Composer workshop #2, with Wojtek Blecharz


Heartbroken by the recent loss of Pauline Oliveros, one of our closest and dearest collaborators, we will take an evening to celebrate and remember her life through a one-hour portrait concert. This event is curated by Dan Lippel (guitar) and Cory Smythe (piano) with Alice Teyssier (flute/voice), Campbell Macdonald (clarinet), Rebekah Heller (bassoon), Ryan Muncy (saxophone), Ross Karre (percussion), and Katinka Kleijn (cello).

    Lead Curators: Dan Lippel and Cory Smythe

Wednesday 12/7
Preston Bradley Hall at Chicago Cultural Center — 78 E. Washington St. 


Anna Thorvaldsdottir: Sequences (2016) for flute, clarinet, bassoon, and saxophone (ICE commission)
Wojtek Blecharz: music for invisible places, part 2 (2016) for bass flute, percussion, and three mijwiz
Anton Webern: Drei Stucke (1914) for piano and cello
Anna Thorvaldsdottir: Hvolf (2009) for voice and piano
Liza Lim: Inguz (1996) for clarinet and cello
Sam Pluta: American Tokyo Daydream (2007) for saxophone, guitar, piano, and percussion 

    Lead Curator: Ryan Muncy

Rebekah Heller, bassoon
Katinka Kleijn, cello
Dan Lippel, guitar
Campbell MacDonald, clarinet
Ross Karre, percussion
Ryan Muncy, saxophone
Cory Smythe, piano
Alice Teyssier, flute


OpenICE Chicago is made possible through lead support from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, alongside generous support from the National Endowment for the Arts, The Paul M. Angell Family Foundation, The Elizabeth F. Cheney Foundation, a CityArts Grant from the City of Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs & Special Events and the Illinois Arts Council, a state agency.