Back to All Events

ICE at University of North Texas

  • University of North Texas 2100 South Interstate 35 East Denton, TX, 76205 United States (map)

ICE’s first residency at the University of North Texas includes lectures, collaborative performances, and coachings with student ensembles.

October 26 at 11:00 AM

Merrill Ellis Intermedia Theatre
College of Music building

ICE speaks about its history and organizational model for University of North Texas students.

October 26 at 7:30 PM

Joseph Klein - An Unaware Cosmos
   premiere performance of complete cycle
featuring the International Contemporary Ensemble,
   UNT faculty and student ensembles

Joseph Klein - Der Gottprotz (character study after Elias Canetti)
   S. Andrew Lloyd, organ
   premiere performance

Ticketing Information:
$5 General Admission
Free to UNT Students (limit 1, UNT Student ID required, must be picked up in person at the MPAC Box Office)

For tickets to the concert visit or call 940-369-7802.

Free parking spaces will be set aside in Fouts Field for patrons attending performances at the Murchison Performing Arts Center. Overflow spaces will be available in Lot 26 (Highland Street between Bain Hall and Music Practice South). 

October 27 at 8:00 PM

Voertman Hall
College of Music Building

ICE performs a repertoire program featuring recent commissions and composer collaborations with the ensemble.

Karola Obermueller: Myrmecia (2015) for guitar, harp, and dulcimer       
Anthony Dinofrio: Piano Trio (2015)
Tomas Gueglio: One Baroque (2015) for guitar and harp               
Bryan Jacobs: Ly Full Hood (2015) for cello and electronics        
Karin Wetzel: Amorphose 2 (2012) for guitar and live electronics
Zosha di Castri: Sprung Testament (2017-18) for violin and piano
Joseph Klein: from An Unaware Cosmos (2012-18)
A Fleeting Symmetry (guitar, harp, harpsichord)
…e pur si muove (solo violin)
A Noble Idea (solo xylophone)
The Illusion of Permanence (violin, violoncello)
Celestial Teapot (harp, percussion)
Unweaving a Rainbow (violoncello, piano)

From ICE:
Pala Garcia, violin
Nathan Davis, percussion
Nuiko Wadden, harp
Daniel Lippel, guitar
Jacob Greenberg, piano and harpsichord
Katinka Kleijn, cello

Performances and commissioning activities during the 2018-19 concert season are made possible by the generous support of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, Howard Gilman Foundation, Booth Ferris Foundation, National Endowment for the Arts, Jerome Foundation, A.N. and Pearl G. Barnett Family Foundation, Fan Fox and Leslie R. Samuels Foundation, Paul M. Angell Family Foundation, Aaron Copland Fund for Music, Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation, Francis Goelet Charitable Lead Trusts, Amphion Foundation, The Gladys Krieble Delmas Foundation, Pacific Harmony Foundation, Ann and Gordon Getty Foundation, Alice M. Ditson Fund of Columbia University, The Casement Fund, BMI Foundation, as well as public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council, the New York State Council for the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature, and the Illinois Arts Council, a state agency. Yamaha Artist Services New York is the exclusive piano provider for ICE.